

2018 Cedarville Speech & Debate

Tournament Results

On Friday and Saturday, May 11-12, 2018, students from AOSDA, CPR, In Truth, PRIME, CSDC, Theophilus, SWAT and STA gathered at Cedarville University to compete in multiple events. Here are the results:

TEAM DEBATE:

Varsity Policy Team Debate: (43 teams competed)

1 st Place team:	Josiah Putrich & Spencer Clark (CSDC)
2 nd Place team:	Joshua Schutte & Nathan Furlough (SWAT)
3 rd Place team:	Evalyn Homoelle & Isaac Homoelle (CSDC)
4 th Place team:	Josiah Campbell & Charlotte Houser (CPR)
5 th Place team:	Frank Vitale & Samantha Cremeans (SWAT)
6 th Place team:	Jonah Crist & Rebekah Gallagher (In Truth)

Varsity Team Debate Speaker Awards: (86 Competitors)

1 st Place speaker: 2 nd Place speaker:	Elisabeth Besse (STA) Alex McKenna (STA)
3 rd Place speaker:	Samantha Cremeans (SWAT)
4 th Place speaker:	Josiah Putrich (CSDC)
5 th Place speaker:	Jessica Searl (PRIME)
6 th Place speaker:	Joshua Alatis (In Truth)
7 th Place speaker:	Jacob Koehler (SWAT)
8 th Place speaker:	Joshua Schutte (SWAT)
9 th Place speaker:	Samuel Penix (Theophilus)
10 th Place speaker:	David Gray (STA)
11 th Place speaker:	Isaac Homoelle (CSDC)
12 th Place speaker:	Timothy Meng (Theophilus)
13 th Place speaker:	Colyn Traini (AOSDA)

INDIVIDUAL EVENTS:

(217 Entries)

Sweepstakes Winner: (30 Speakers Competed)	1 st Place: 2 nd Place: 3 rd Place: 4 th Place: 5 th Place:	Samantha Cremeans (SWAT) Alex McKenna (STA) Jacob Koehler (SWAT) Joshua Schutte (SWAT) Brayden Peppo (SWAT)
News Analysis: (13 Speakers Competed)	1 st Place: 2 nd Place:	Alex McKenna (STA) Aaron Smith (Theophilus)
Impromptu A: (29 Speakers Competed)	1 st Place: 2 nd Place: 3 rd Place: 4 th Place: 5 th Place:	Tess McKenna (STA) Joshua Schutte (SWAT) Timothy Meng (Theophilus) Brayden Peppo (SWAT) Mari Jo Downing (AOSDA)
Impromptu B: (24 Speakers Competed)	1 st Place: 2 nd Place: 3 rd Place: 4 th Place:	Samantha Cremeans (SWAT) Joshua Alatis (In Truth) Kirby Copper (Theophilus) John Macdonald (STA)
Extemporaneous Apologetics: (39 Speakers Competed)	1 st Place: 2 nd Place: 3 rd Place: 4 th Place: 5 th Place: 6 th Place:	Evalyn Homoelle (CSDC) Jacob Koehler (SWAT) Rebecca Northrup (PRIME) Olivia Ols (CSDC) Julia Ballerstedt (PRIME) Nathan Furlough (SWAT)
Biographical Informative: (31 Speakers Competed)	1 st Place: 2 nd Place: 3 rd Place: 4 th Place: 5 th Place:	Alex McKenna (STA) Samantha Cremeans (SWAT) Joshua Schutte (SWAT) Olivia Ball (AOSDA) Mari Jo Downing (AOSDA)
Poetry A: (24 Speakers Competed)	1 st Place: 2 nd Place: 3 rd Place: 4 th Place:	David Gray (STA) Brayden Peppo (SWAT) Anna Bielawski (SWAT) Jonathan Cox (CPR)
Poetry B: (24 Speakers Competed)	1 st Place: 2 nd Place: 3 rd Place: 4 th Place:	Jacob Koehler (SWAT) Emily Schutte (SWAT) Olivia Jordan (AOSDA) Elisabeth Besse (STA)

Humorous Interpretation: (17 Teams Competed)	1 st Place: 2 nd Place: 3 rd Place:	Joel Koehler (SWAT) Isaac Graham (SWAT) Jonathan Cox (CPR)
Cultural Criticism : (15 Speakers Competed)	1 st Place: 2 nd Place:	Isaac Graham (SWAT) Preston Lair (SWAT)
JV Poetry: (26 Speakers Competed)	1 st Place: 2 nd Place: 3 rd Place: 4 th Place:	Alex Vodicka (In Truth) Ollie Sutter (SWAT) Claire Brown (SWAT) Katherine Gray (STA)
JV Biographical Informative:	1 st Place:	Adele Gulick (SWAT)
Junior Poetry: (9 Speakers)		Daniel Alatis (In Truth) Madeline Banta (In Truth) Travis Burak (CPR) Abigail Campbell (CPR) Alysia Castle (AOSDA) James Furlough (SWAT) Gracie Lucas (CPR) Andrew Macdonald (STA) Anneliese Scott (CPR)