On April 8-9, 2011, **Christian Communicators of Ohio** held a speech and debate tournament at Grace Chapel Church in West Liberty, OH. Clubs from Ohio and Kentucky gathered to participate in Policy Team Debate and Individual Events.

# **Varsity Debate:**

24 teams, 48 speakers

# **Varsity Speaker Awards:**

1st: Rebekah Basinger (AOSDA)

2nd: Kellen Ayres (Prime)

3rd: Elisabeth Wynia (AOSDA)

4th: Ian Cheatwood (SWAT)

5th: Nathan Zinda (CSDC)

6th: Thomas Pierce (Prime)

6th: Jessica Koehler (SWAT)

7th: Alicia Donegia (SWAT)

## **Varsity Team Awards:**

1st: Elisabeth Wynia – Timothy Troutner (AOSDA)

2nd: Daniel Warne – Rebekah Basinger (AOSDA)

3rd: Ian Cheatwood – Andrew Wright (SWAT)

4th: Kent Hoshiko – Nathan Zinda (CSDC)

#### **Individual Events:**

#### Varsity:

### Sweepstakes:

25 competitors

1st: Elisabeth Wynia (AOSDA) 2nd: Sarah Griffith (CSDC) 3rd: David Slaughter (AOSDA)

**Public Address Events:** 

#### **Rhetorical Criticism:**

12 competitors

1st: Kellen Ayres (Prime)

2nd: Elisabeth Wynia (AOSDA)

#### Persuasive:

23 competitors

1st: Sarah Griffith (CSDC)
2nd: David Slaughter (AOSDA)
3rd: Gabriel Cyrus (CSDC)
4th: Sam Herrmann (SWAT)

## **Interpretation Events:**

# **Humorous Interpretation:**

15 competitors

1st: Kellen Ayres (Prime) 2nd: Julia Koehler (SWAT)

#### Prose A:

22 competitors

1st: Josiah Watson (AOSDA) 2nd: Elizabeth King (SWAT) 3rd: Sean Cheatwood (SWAT)

### Prose B:

21 competitors

1st: Jessica Koehler (SWAT) 2nd: Elisabeth Wynia (AOSDA) 3rd: Cody Nowels (CSDC)

## **Limited Preparation Events:**

## **Extemporaneous Commentary:**

10 competitors

1st: Jessica Koehler (SWAT) 2nd: Ian Cheatwood (SWAT)

## **Impromptu Apologetics:**

14 competitors

1st: Timothy Troutner (AOSDA) 2nd: Elisabeth Wynia (AOSDA)

# Impromptu:

37 competitors

1st: Sarah Griffith (CSDC)

2nd: Samuel Pierce (Prime) 3rd: David Slaughter (ASODA) 4th: Jordan Denen (SWAT) 5th: Sarah Miller (CSDC) 6th: Marci Slaughter (AOSDA)

# **Junior Varsity:**

# JV Informative:

10 competitors

1st: Emily Walker (CSDC) 2nd: Brooke Durnell (Prime)

## JV Prose:

29 competitors

1st: Jessica Searl (Prime) 2nd: Lydia Watson (AOSDA) 3rd: Jacob Koehler (SWAT) 4th: Carolyn Dunn (AOSDA)