## Hilliard Tournament Results: February 5 & 6, 2010 Held at Upper Arlington Lutheran Church

Seventy policy debaters and many IE competitors registered in nearly 120 different speech event slots competed in one of the first CCO tournaments for the 2010 season. Seven speech and debate clubs from Ohio, Michigan, Indiana, and Kentucky were represented over the weekend.

## **INDIVIDUAL EVENTS:**

Sweepstakes Winner: Elisabeth Wynia, AOSDA

#### **Extemporaneous:**

4 speakers competed

1<sup>st</sup> place: Rebekah Basinger, *AOSDA* 

### Impromptu:

22 speakers competed

1st place:Ellie Sutter, SWAT2nd place:Lauren Smith, Kairos3rd place:Tiffany Denen, SWAT

### Impromptu Apologetics – A:

14 speakers competed

1<sup>st</sup> place: Vicki Searl, *Prime* 2<sup>nd</sup> place: Rachel Basinger, *AOSDA* 

#### **Impromptu Apologetics – B:**

14 speakers competed

1<sup>st</sup> place: Timothy Troutner, *AOSDA* 2<sup>nd</sup> place: Elisabeth Wynia, *AOSDA* 

### **Informative – A:**

12 speakers competed

1 <sup>st</sup> place:	Kellen Ayres, Prime
2 <sup>nd</sup> place:	Michelle Vawter, In Truth

## Informative – B:

13 speakers competed

1<sup>st</sup> place: Elisabeth Wynia, *AOSDA*2<sup>nd</sup> place: Matthew Eley, *In Truth*

### **Dramatic Duo:**

10 teams competed

1<sup>st</sup> place: Kellen Ayres/Lindy Ayres, *Prime* 2<sup>nd</sup> place: Eliza Wells/Connor Pennington, *AOSDA* 

## **Poetry – A:**

15 speakers competed

1<sup>st</sup> place: Jordan Koehler, *SWAT* 2<sup>nd</sup> place: Leah Kubisch, *Logic* 

## Poetry – B:

15 speakers competed

1 <sup>st</sup> place:	Isaac Mishne, AOSDA
2 <sup>nd</sup> place:	Charles Searl, Prime

## **Junior Varsity:**

### **Biographical Informative**

4 speakers competed

1<sup>st</sup> place: David Downing, *AOSDA* 

### **Poetry:**

19 speakers competed

1st place:Christa Essley, AOSDA2nd place:Jennifer Bube, Logic3rd place:Lauren Dreier, AOSDA

# **TEAM DEBATE:**

# Varsity Team Debate:

30 teams competed

1 <sup>st</sup> place team:	Martin Card – Hunter Glenn (Kairos)
2 <sup>nd</sup> place team:	Josh Donegia – Ellie Sutter (SWAT)
3 <sup>rd</sup> place team:	Philip Hammersley – Christina Benson (Kairos)
4 <sup>th</sup> place team:	Esther Bolzman – Eric Skowronski (Kairos)
5 <sup>th</sup> place team:	Grace Hammersley – Nick Kearney (Kairos)

# Varsity Team Debate Speaker Awards:

60 speakers

1 <sup>st</sup> place speaker:	Brett Essley (AOSDA)
2 <sup>nd</sup> place speaker:	Hunter Glenn (Kairos)
3 <sup>rd</sup> place speaker:	Philip Hammersley (Kairos)
4 <sup>th</sup> place speaker:	Matthew Eley (In Truth)
5 <sup>th</sup> place speaker:	Christina Benson (Kairos)
6 <sup>th</sup> place speaker:	Richard Wilson (CPR)
7 <sup>th</sup> place speaker:	Jennifer Houser (CPR)
8 <sup>th</sup> place speaker:	Martin Card (Kairos)
9 <sup>th</sup> place speaker:	Rachel Basinger (AOSDA)

# **Novice Team Debate:**

12 teams competed

1 <sup>st</sup> place team:	Zach Henkel – Daniel Warne (AOSDA)
2 <sup>nd</sup> place team:	Abigail Vodicka – Esther Armbrust (In Truth)

# Novice Team Debate Speaker Awards:

24 speakers

1 <sup>st</sup> place speaker:	David Kopechek (In Truth)
2 <sup>nd</sup> place speaker:	Josiah Moore (LOGIC)
3 <sup>rd</sup> place speaker:	Dylan Harrington (In Truth)
4 <sup>th</sup> place speaker:	Abigail Vodicka (In Truth)