Christian Communicators of Ohio hosted the Mount Vernon Speech and Debate Tournament on April 8-9th, 2011. Five speech and debate clubs from around Ohio participated. The results are as follows:

## VARSITY DEBATE:

29 teams, 58 speakers

### Varsity Speaker Awards:

1st: Nathan Putrich (Theophilus)
2nd: Drew Martin (Theophilus)
3rd: Joseph Lanza (Theophilus)
4th: Richard Wilson (CPR)
5th: Mason Wilkes (CPR)
6th: Caleb Putrich (Theophilus)
7th: Joseph Hahn (Steubenville)
8th: Jeffrey Gaiser (Theophilus)
9th: Isabelle Wilson (CPR)

### Varsity Team Awards:

1st: Nathan Coleman & Joseph Hahn (Steubenville))2nd: Daniel Griffith & Jeffrey Gaiser (Theophilus)3rd: Drew Martin & Elly Martin (Theophilus)4th: Patrick Scott & Mark Recznik (Steubenville)

## VARSITY INDIVIDUAL EVENTS

#### Sweepstakes:

5 competitors 1st: Kenan Sprague (QTO)

## **Extemporaneous Commentary:**

3 competitors 1st: Jeffery Gaiser (Theophilus)

#### Impromptu

15 competitors 1st: Nathaniel Berens (QTO) 2nd: Elly Martin (Theophilus)

## Impromptu Apologetics

26 competitors 1st: Caleb Putrich (Theophilus) 2nd: Nathan Putrich (Theophilus) 3rd: Emily Brewster (In Truth) 4th: Drew Martin (Theophilus) 5th: Abigail Vodicka (In Truth) **Persuasive** 4 competitors 1st: Rachel Adkins (QTO)

Rhetorical Criticism 3 competitors 1st: Kenan Sprague (QTO)

Humorous Interpretation 9 competitors 1st: Kenan Sprague (QTO)

# Prose A

15 competitors 1st: Jacob Reed (QTO) 2nd: Samuel Besse (QTO)

## Prose B

16 competitors 1st: Isabelle Wilson (CPR) 2nd: Mikayla Haught (Theophilus)

## **JV Prose**

11 competitors 1st: Elisabeth Besse (QTO) 2nd: Anna Reed (QTO)