## CCO Open Speech and Debate Tournament May 16 & 17, 2008

# Held At Cedarville University

Sixty-five debate teams and 165 individual event competitors registered in 229 events participated in the Christian Communicators of Ohio sponsored tournament at Cedarville University. Competitors came from five states: Ohio, Michigan, Indiana, Virginia, and North Carolina. Congratulations to all those who participated!

Tournament Results include:

## **Debate Awards**

## **Debate Speaker Awards**

$1^{st}$	Vincent Malainy, ACE
$2^{nd}$	Joe Griffith, <i>Theophilus</i>
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Elliot Gaiser, <i>Theophilus</i>
4 <sup>th</sup>	Mark Kubisch, <i>Kairos</i>
5 <sup>th</sup>	Philip Anders, ACE
6 <sup>th</sup>	Meredith Langlois, ACE
7 <sup>th</sup>	Tom Wood, Kairos
8 <sup>th</sup>	Renee Knudsen, ACE
9 <sup>th</sup>	Paul Robinson, ACE
10 <sup>th</sup>	Jonathon Patton, <i>CPR</i>
11 <sup>th</sup>	Rachel Shoff, <i>CLEV</i>
12 <sup>th</sup>	Jenna Engelhart, <i>Kairos</i>
13 <sup>th</sup>	Michael Parrish, <i>Kairos</i>
14 <sup>th</sup>	Heidi Benson, <i>Kairos</i>
15 <sup>th</sup>	Amanda Slater, <i>RADIX</i>
16 <sup>th</sup>	Paul Miller, <i>CLEV</i>
17 <sup>th</sup>	John Stegner, <i>RADIX</i>
18 <sup>th</sup>	Joe Gallagher, In Truth
19 <sup>th</sup>	Allie Witt, <i>In Truth</i>
20 <sup>th</sup>	Andrew Bolzman, <i>Kairos</i>
_0	i indian Dollandin, ilum ob

#### **Debate Teams Awards**

1st place Team	Elliot Gaiser – Joe Griffith, Theophilus
2 <sup>nd</sup> place Team	Josiah Routhier – John Stegner, RADIX
3 <sup>rd</sup> place Team	Matt Noble – Joe Chrysler, Kairos
4 <sup>th</sup> place Team	Anthony Johnson – John Spiegel, In Truth
5 <sup>th</sup> place Team	Rachel Shoff – Paul Miller, <i>CLEV</i>
6 <sup>th</sup> place Team	Mark Kubisch – Michael Parrish, Kairos
7 <sup>th</sup> place Team	Martin Card – Hunter Glenn, Kairos
8 <sup>th</sup> place Team	Vincent Malainy – Philip Anders, ACE

9<sup>th</sup> place Team Amy Williams – Aminta Moses, SWAT 10<sup>th</sup> place Team Bret Essley - Rachel Basinger, AOSDA

## **Individual Event Awards:**

## **Sweepstakes:**

1<sup>st</sup> place 2<sup>nd</sup> place 3<sup>rd</sup> place Caleb Watson, OTO Olivia Van Winkle, CPR Heidi Benson, Kairos

#### **Extemporaneous:**

1<sup>st</sup> place 2<sup>nd</sup> place John Stegner, RADIX Jonathan Patton, CPR

Finalists:

Noah Bucher, Theophilus Rachel Shoff, Cleveland

## Impromptu:

1<sup>st</sup> place 2<sup>nd</sup> place 3<sup>rd</sup> place Elisabeth Wynia, AOSDA Olivia Van Winkle, CPR Megan Korpics, Cleveland

Finalists:

Rebekah Basinger, AOSDA Josiah Routhier, RADIX

#### Impromptu Apologetics A:

1<sup>st</sup> place Nicholas Willeke, Cleveland 2<sup>nd</sup> place 3<sup>rd</sup> place Joseph Griffith, Theophilus Joe Gallagher, In Truth

Finalists:

Charles Stockdale, QTO Will Thetford, CCofSE

#### **Impromptu Apologetics B:**

1<sup>st</sup> place 2<sup>nd</sup> place 3<sup>rd</sup> place Andrew Bolzman, Kairos Caleb Watson, QTO

Ashley Brewster, In Truth

Finalists:

Melysza Jones, RADIX Paul Miller, Cleveland

#### **Biographical Informative A:**

1<sup>st</sup> place Renee Knudsen, ACE 2<sup>nd</sup> place 3<sup>rd</sup> place Jacob Adkins, QTO Mika Gibson, SDFI

Finalists:

Joe Gallagher, In Truth Timothy Troutner, AOSDA Thomas Wood, Kairos

## **Biographical Informative B:**

1<sup>st</sup> place 2<sup>nd</sup> place 3<sup>rd</sup> place Karyn Roe, SDFI Caleb Watson, QTO Will Thetford, CCofSE

Finalists:

Heidi Benson, Kairos Anthony Johnson, In Truth Olivia Van Winkle, CPR

## **Dramatic Interpretation:**

David Sanders, QTO 1<sup>st</sup> place

## Prose A:

1<sup>st</sup> place 2<sup>nd</sup> place 3<sup>rd</sup> place Caleb Watson, QTO Thomas Wood, Kairos

Ruby Hopkins, Cambridge Academy

Finalists:

Heidi Benson, Kairos Emily Brewster, In Truth

#### **Prose B:**

1<sup>st</sup> place 2<sup>nd</sup> place 3<sup>rd</sup> place Kimberly Cory, Theophilus Olivia Van Winkle, CPR Katey Nowels, Cleveland

Finalists:

Jacob Adkins, OTO Deborah Foell, AOSDA

#### Prose C:

1<sup>st</sup> place 2<sup>nd</sup> place 3<sup>rd</sup> place Heather Steedly, Cleveland Michael Parrish, Kairos Amy Witt, In Truth

Finalists:

Sherry Bube, LOGIC Kate Fike, Theophilus Kate Tasseff, OTO

## JV Biographical Informative:

1<sup>st</sup> place Christa Essley, *AOSDA*2<sup>nd</sup> place Anna Foell, *AOSDA* 

Finalists:

Rachael Meyer, *AOSDA*Peter Troutner, *AOSDA*Kaylee Van Winkle, *CPR*Abby Witt, *In Truth* 

# JV Great Speeches Interpretation:

1<sup>st</sup> place Daniel Barry, AOSDA
2<sup>nd</sup> place Thomas Shaw, In Truth
3<sup>rd</sup> place Aaron Watson, QTO
4<sup>th</sup> place Sarah Griffith, Theophilus

Finalists:

Faith Arni, *AOSDA* James Stockdale, *QTO*